ipcop support

community support forum
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:03 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:50 pm 
New User

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Venice (ITALY)
Hi, I have installed IPCop 1.4.20 and after installation, when the machine reboot, in the screen appeared the words 'GRUB Hard Disk Error' and does not start anything..

How to fix? I'm not practice of windows or linux...

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:55 pm 
Site Moderator

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 6967
Location: Beaumont, TX, USA
Did you finish the installation successfully?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 4:02 pm 
New User

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Venice (ITALY)
Yes, I had configured the GREEN and RED correctly, a message appeared saying that the configuration was not fully completed and that it was necessary to end it via browser.

The system has rebooted and the error appeared.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 4:06 pm 
Site Moderator

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 6967
Location: Beaumont, TX, USA
No, setup should be complete from the console before reboot.

Which version of IPCOP are you installing?
What step were you at when you got this message?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 4:20 pm 
New User

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Venice (ITALY)
I am installing the version 1.4.20...

I tried to reinstall, and everything went out (I entered the password for the 'admin' and 'backup', before I had not done so), tells me to press 'OK' to reboot, I press and compare the error.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 4:26 pm 
Site Moderator

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 6967
Location: Beaumont, TX, USA
Mr SaJaN wrote:
tells me to press 'OK' to reboot, I press and compare the error.
So are you saying it worked or not?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 4:37 pm 
New User

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Venice (ITALY)
Not work... In the screen re-appeared the words 'GRUB Hard Disk Error'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:42 pm 
Pro User

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:01 am
Posts: 832
Location: Netherlands
What hardware? i.e. motherboard, HD controller, HD etc.


Last edited by Super on Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:52 pm 
New User

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Venice (ITALY)
Motherboard: ASUS P4B
CPU: INTEL P4 1,7 GHZ
RAM: 512 MB DIMM 133 MHZ
HD: Samsung 2,5 GB
CDROM: TEAC CD-W524E


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:55 pm 
Pro User

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:01 am
Posts: 832
Location: Netherlands
did you set the boot order to HD first in the bios? and did you configure the HD as primary master?. (you could also try removing the CDROM to check if that helps)

edit: if that doesn't work you could try booting an old dos disk and do an fdisk /mbr to reset the master boot record and try to install again afterwards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:02 pm 
New User

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Venice (ITALY)
Super wrote:
did you set the boot order to HD first in the bios? and did you configure the HD as primary master?. (you could also try removing the CDROM to check if that helps)

Yes, I removed the boot from cd and I put as the primary one from hd

Super wrote:
edit: if that doesn't work you could try booting an old dos disk and do an fdisk /mbr to reset the master boot record and try to install again afterwards.

How do I create an old dos disk?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:06 pm 
Pro User

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:01 am
Posts: 832
Location: Netherlands
auwch, you don't have one :P...dunno lol, maybe somewhere on the net, there is something like freedos too I think..


I googled a bit for your motherboard in combination with GRUB hard disk error and found this:
http://www.mepis.org/node/9363

Someone with the same board got the same grub error after installing another linux distribution (MEPIS), he fixed it by updating his bios...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 8:02 pm 
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 3:38 am
Posts: 3852
Location: Colorado, USA
If it's a 2.5G HD, it means the drive is around 120 years old (ok, maybe not quit that old but still a dinosaur).

First thing I would do is run a full manufactures hard drive test on the drive and make sure it's 100% ok.

As to boot disks, GOOGLE "dos floppy image", you'll get thousands of sources.

_________________
For the 2.5^15th time :: Better Details = Better Answers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 8:22 pm 
New User

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Venice (ITALY)
Tomorrow morning I try to change the hard disk by putting an 8Gb (I do not want to waste more large)

If not work try with an image dos floppy ;)

Thanks, you keep updated


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:36 am 
New User

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Venice (ITALY)
:cry: I tried with another hard disk and the result is equal, 'GRUB Hard Disk Error'

I'll try with a floppy dos...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:23 am 
Pro User

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:01 am
Posts: 832
Location: Netherlands
Mr SaJaN wrote:
:cry: I tried with another hard disk and the result is equal, 'GRUB Hard Disk Error'

I'll try with a floppy dos...



Did you look at the asus website for an bios update?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 12:20 pm 
New User

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Venice (ITALY)
No, I'm afraid of doing damage with an update of the bios :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:23 pm 
Pro User

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:01 am
Posts: 832
Location: Netherlands
Still seems your best option, just googling around a bit gives hits about the bios having problems with booting grub based linux installs on that board with older bios versions:
http://www.mouraf.org/blog/show/2
http://www.mepis.org/node/2773
Quote:
The BIOS for the P4B series appears to be badly broken -- it won't boot Linux

Quote:
I noticed that IPCop v1.4.11 doesn’t work with MB asus P4B 1005 (grub hard disk error). You need to upgrade BIOS to version 1012.


LILO seems to be working so if you don't want to do a bios update you would have to do a custom IPCOP build and use that instead but I would say go for the bios update far easier and faster :D
Or find yourself another PC/motherboard..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:41 pm 
Expert

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 11:23 am
Posts: 2483
Location: LDK | Hessen | Germany
Super wrote:
LILO seems to be working so if you don't want to do a bios update you would have to do a custom IPCOP build and use that instead but I would say go for the bios update far easier and faster :D
Or find yourself another PC/motherboard..

Probably extlinux is easier, still not trivial though ...

_________________
Image

-=[ If you want answers: provide lots of information, including tiny details! ]=-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GRUB Hard Disk Error
Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:37 am 
New User

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Venice (ITALY)
Ok, problem solved by updating the BIOS to version 1012 (I haven't done damage :D)

Thank you all for your help :!: :P


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group