ipcop support

community support forum
It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 2:28 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:19 am 
New User

Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:16 am
Posts: 2
Hello I am trying to setup a new red green blue ipcop installation

red from cable modem (verizon fios) --> ipcop box
green from ipcop box --> wireless router for ethernet
Blue from ipcop box --> wireless router for wireless

When I boot into the installation there is a line before I can log in that says something like: "cannot connect on red"

Any help with this would be great thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:38 pm 
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 8:21 am
Posts: 2481
And your network diagram looks like ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:41 pm 
Site Moderator

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 6967
Location: Beaumont, TX, USA
bluegroper wrote:
And your network diagram looks like ?
To be more specific, please provide a COMPLETE network diagram including IP addresses, subnets, default gateway, and DNS servers for all devices/interfaces.

Please also provide details on how Red is setup (i.e. DHCP, PPPOE, etc) and if you are using the same router in your above diagram. No interface can be attached to another (i.e. Blue and Green must be physically separated).


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:42 pm 
New User

Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:16 am
Posts: 2
Ok let's see.

My red connection comes from the box that verizon installed on the other side of the basement. They ran a network cable from that modem to the other side of the basement. Normally I plug that cable into the wireless router that verizon supplied. I connect using DHCP. I now have that plugged into one of the network cards in the ipcop machine for my red network. Then I usually plug my computers into the router previously mentioned. I now have that router plugged into one of the NICs on the ipcop box for my green network. Finally I have a second wireless router plugged into the third and final NIC on the ipcop box for my blue network.

Thank you for the quick responses.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 6:33 pm 
User

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:21 am
Posts: 204
Please note DS's response above, specifically the 2nd paragraph. If you dont remember what parameters you used when you installed IPCop, you can log into the command line and run `setup`. It will show you what the current setup is, and also allow you to make changes.

_________________
---
Open source IT Solutions


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 4:01 pm 
Site Moderator

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 6967
Location: Beaumont, TX, USA
Please answer the following:
ds531 wrote:
please provide a COMPLETE network diagram including IP addresses, subnets, default gateway, and DNS servers for all devices/interfaces.

Please also provide details on how Red is setup (i.e. DHCP, PPPOE, etc)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group